索雷尔-史密斯工程苍蝇 LiDAR ,保存客户端资源

2020年2月20日

具有数百万点云的 3D 映射使采矿项目更加可行

Sorrell-Smith工程咨询公司(2SEC)的工程师Jim Smith、CAD技术员Jerrad Burns和测量师Charlie Patton主要专注于采矿方面的挑战,在这些挑战中,数据采集,尤其是采矿测量,需要快速准确的结果。2SEC是一家位于阿肯色州西孟菲斯市的工程设计、规划和施工管理公司。史密斯和伯恩斯指出,该公司一度发现自己受到三种数据采集方法的限制:GLS-2000扫描仪、移动式的 LiDAR或传统的传统调查方法。2SEC收购YellowScan公司的 Vx-20 LiDAR开启了三维测绘的新视野。

索雷尔-史密斯无人机覆盖的美国地雷区域 LiDAR 2019年11月测绘飞行

 

最近,一个客户的目标是获得一个采矿计划,不仅为矿山的储量寿命,但创建短期的3年,中期5-7年,和长期7年以上计划。短期而言,目的是评估市场销售以满足市场需求,并开始为中期足迹做准备。中期将发现更多的废物区;它还将改变溪流的路线,缓解进入长期区域,显示整个矿井在使用寿命结束时的完工地板。

全面的可视化不仅对客户来说是必须的,对2SEC来说也是必须的,尤其是对中长期的关注点。通过这个焦点,可以在矿山的生命周期内更好地进行决策,从而帮助降低成本。设身处地为客户着想,公司不仅对核心矿区进行勘查,而且还对采矿范围内的未受干扰的周边区域进行勘查,这些区域内的树木或未来可能的可开采材料都是未受干扰的。YellowScan提供了很好的功能,可以在自然界的树冠下进行地面拍摄,验证了NGS蓝线溪的位置及其蜿蜒的路线。

(NGS 蓝线流非常重要,尤其是当它们位于采矿或建筑工地内时。未经批准许可,这些受管制的溪流不得有任何污染物、沉积物或额外的流水进入蓝线流。未经许可的排放进入蓝线流可能导致罚款、处罚、附加限制或通知停止操作,直到流恢复执行或修订操作以消除未经许可的排放。因此,了解这些流的位置在未来运营中至关重要,从而允许和补救矿场。

2019年11月,2SEC飞行任务。任务参数包括3天内调查193公顷或477亩,处理5天的任务参数。数据审查与开发和数量计算,历时12天。规划工作包括与客户团队审查现有计划,讨论需求和预期销售情况,以制定更新的采矿计划。部署的程序包括POSPac UAV、YellowScan with photo/Ortho's ASP Suite、Agisoft Metashape Professional、Terrasolid-TerraScan和TerraPhoto、Virtual Geomatics QC GCP、以及Geocue的LP360扩展软件用于特征提取。

 

在7次飞行中,飞行速度和飞行高度为8米/秒,距离起飞点60米,为矿区最高点。设备包括YellowScan Vx-20,索尼A7RIII相机和DJI Matrice 600无人机,Topcon GR-5静态RTK 1 Sec.成果包括2770张图像,8900多万个点,地面控制10个空中目标。客户节省的勘测时间为7天,数据采集处理时间估计节省25-30天,RDQC为30-45天。合计估计客户节省的勘测和数据处理费用为4.5-6万元。2SEC有10个目标,结果以英尺为单位。

该公司发现,在设备和软件、数据质量、处理速度、低成本、进入测量作业区域和降低安全风险方面,使用YelloScan系统十分方便。"在客户支持方面,我们认为YellowScan团队是一支优秀的团队,是支持和工作流程解决方案的一流专业人员,"Jim Smith 报道。

"UAV YellowScan扫描选项提供访问项目,通常无法访问与传统的测量设备,"杰拉德伯恩斯指出。"无人机的好处 LiDAR 在短时间内安全地提供更多的数据,尤其是在使用通常崎岖的地形时。"

有关雇用 LiDAR 调查您所在地区,请联系我们!

*乔丹·罗伯特

最新知识

YellowScan的最新动态

Sorrell-Smith Engineering flies LiDAR, Saves Client Resources

Feb 20, 2020

3D mapping with millions of point clouds makes mining project more viable

Engineer Jim Smith, CAD technician Jerrad Burns and surveyor Charlie Patton at Sorrell-Smith Engineering Consultants LLC (2SEC) focus primarily on mining challenges where data acquisition, in particular mining surveys, require fast and accurate results. 2SEC is a full-service engineering design, planning and construction management company located in West Memphis, Arkansas. At one point, Smith and Burns point out, the firm found itself limited by three data collection methods: either their GLS-2000 Scanner, mobile LiDAR or the good old-fashioned conventional survey method. 2SEC’s acquisition of YellowScan’s Vx-20 LiDAR opened new 3D mapping horizons.

U.S Mine area covered by Sorrell-Smith UAV LiDAR mapping flight in November 2019

 

Recently, one client objective was to obtain a mining plan not only for the life of the mine’s reserves, but to create short 3-year, mid 5-7 year, and longterm 7-plus year plans. For the short term, the intent was to evaluate market sales to meet market demand and to start preparing for the midterm footprint. The midterm would discover more waste areas; it would also reroute streams and mitigate areas moving into the longterm, showing the finished floor across the entire mine at the end of its life.

A comprehensive visual was a must, not only for the client but for 2SEC as well, particularly focusing on the mid-to-long term. This focal point can help reduce cost by virtue of better decision-making over the life of the mine. Putting oneself in the client’s shoes, the company surveys not just the core mine area but also undisturbed adjacent areas with trees that fall within the mining limits or what may be future minable material. The YellowScan Vx-20 provided great features that can help get ground shots under nature’s canopies, and verified the location of the NGS blue line streams and its meandering routes.

(NGS blue line streams are very important especially when they are located within a mining or construction site. These regulated streams cannot have any contaminants, sediment or additional run-off entering into the blue line streams without an approved permit. An unpermitted discharge into the blue line stream can result in fines, penalties, additional restrictions or notice to cease operations until stream restoration is performed or until operations are revised to eliminate the unpermitted discharge. Therefore knowing where these streams are can become critical in the future operation, permitting and remediation of the mine.)

In November 2019, 2SEC flew its missions. The mission parameters included a survey of 193 hectares or 477 acres over 3 days, with 5 days of processing. Data was reviewed with development and quantity calculations over 12 days. Planning consisted of reviewing an existing plan with the client’s team, discussing needs and anticipated sales for development of the updated mining plan. Programs deployed included Applanix POSPac UAV, YellowScan LiDAR CloudStation with photo/Ortho’s ASP Suite, Agisoft Metashape Professional, Terrasolid-TerraScan and TerraPhoto, Virtual Geomatics QC GCP, and Geocue’s LP360 LiDAR extension was also utilized for feature extraction.

 

Among the 7 flights, flight speed and altitude was 8 m/s at 60 meters from the takeoff point, which was the highest point of the mine. The equipment included the YellowScan Vx-20, Sony A7RIII camera and DJI Matrice 600 drone, Topcon GR-5 Static RTK 1 Sec. The results included 2,770 images and over 89 million points with 10 aerial targets for ground control. The client savings in survey time was 7 days, with an estimated 25-30 days saved in data collection processing time and the RDQC was 30-45 days. Altogether the estimated client savings were $45,000 to $60,000 for surveying and data processing. 2SEC had 10 targets with the results in feet.

 

The firm found ease of use with YellowScan in terms of equipment and software, data quality, processing speed, low costs, access to survey area and lower safety risks. With respect to customer support it was our experience that the YellowScan team was a superb team, top-class professionals for solutions for support and workflows, Jim Smith reported.

The UAV Yellowscan option provides access to projects that typically would be inaccessible with conventional survey equipment, noted Jerrad Burns. The benefit of the UAV LiDAR safely provides significantly more data in a short time frame, especially when working with typically rugged terrain.

For further information on the benefits of employing LiDAR to survey your region, contact us!

–Jordan Robert

Latest news
What’s new at YellowScan