LiDAR 重新映射龙卷风巷的钻石Vista风电场 : 节省 100 万美元

 2020年1 月27日

堪萨斯州萨利纳附近地区位于土著坎萨人境内,恰好是美国最大的小麦产区之一。最初被法国声称为路易斯安那州的一部分,后来被美国于1803年以路易斯安那购买收购。

然而,并不是萨利娜的历史使它脱颖而出,而该地区的一个决定性特征是频繁的强风,这使得它成为建立风力发电场的理想选择。

(谈到风能......如果仅仅提到堪萨斯州就会让你想起汽车碾压式的龙卷风,我们理解,因为萨利纳也发现自己正处于臭名昭著的龙卷风谷中间,相当于美国的百慕大三角,但这是另一个故事。)

进入 RES 美洲,一个工程采购施工 (EPC) 承包商与分包创建钻石Vista风电场,估计成本为 4 亿美元。早在2018年,RES预计将建立95个风力涡轮机,每个涡轮机的转子尺寸为125米。该风电场预计将产生1300千兆瓦的风力发电。

在施工过程中,只有一个重大故障,证明是缺乏高度准确的土地调查,这一故障导致昂贵的设备延误。这就是体现YellowScan探测激光雷达能节约时间作用的地方。由位于科罗拉多州的瞻博尼珀无人区运营的无人机测量员,在三天的收集中能够重新绘制超过 8,800 公顷的土地,而传统的测量方法的成本延迟长达六周。由于是用YellowScan 测量生成的数字地形表面的质量 ,RES 估计节省了 100 万美元的额外土方运输成本。

裸地数字地形模型(DTM)

 

深入细节

瞻胜兵无人拥有并运营一个 YellowScan Surveyor 和三个YellowScan Vx-20。 瞻联首席收入官 Brian Soliday 解释说,通过传统的调查,您可能会每 50 英尺获得一个数据点,但 LiDAR "我们能够为[我们的客户]提供每平方米 40 到 45 点的数据,数据非常准确。快速周转时间意味着风力涡轮机垫上的土方几乎可以立即重新启动。

根据Soliday的经验,大多数Juniper的客户希望摄影测量的高分辨率正射影像图 LiDAR ,该图像来自于点云,这是YellowScan设备和软件中包含的解决方案。"我们为土地开发商使用这种方法,他们要进去搬土。我们弄清楚这些物体埋在地下的位置,"Soliday说。

 

细腻的坚韧

Diamond Vista风电场的建设并非一蹴而就。首先,RES和主承包商必须获得城镇和社区的批准,然后与控制总面积为19,000公顷的约200名土地所有者谈判达成准入合同。
当Diamond Vista的施工开始时,有一排土方车随时准备就绪,每天在现场的费用为5000-7000美元。但是,当他们开始切割垫层和通道时,他们很快意识到DTM(数字地形模型)有很大偏差。如果采用传统的测量方法,他们将面临四到六周的延误。瞻博网络的YellowScanLiDAR 解决方案在72小时内就完成了救援。

在测量师的一起,他们在三天内收集了88平方公里的数据。预编程飞行任务捕获了76米的大片 LiDAR .Soliday 说:"在每一条公路上,我们都采取了道路的中心线,每次上、后都飞了一个确定的偏移量,以确保我们有很好的覆盖范围。"一些地区植被茂盛;其他人是明确的。虽然刮风,他们还是能以每小时32公里的风速与勘测员一起驾驶无人机。视觉物流很棘手,因为这些航班(经常)发生在农民的田地中间。对于测量师,只要他们在三英里范围内有一个基站,他们就能非常准确地收集数据。

 

将数据输入字段

曾经有操作员下载了YellowScan地图数据,Juniper在短短三天的处理中就成功生成了结果。因此,尽管传统调查最多需要 42 天,但Juniper能够仅用 9 天时间就将数据组合起来并进行更改。最后,RES 需要以 .xml 格式的 DSM 和数字地形模型,以及 1 英尺的轮廓、每个焊盘/道路的剪切和填充报告以及 GPS 机器控制文件。

Soliday 说:"他们真正想要的只是拇指驱动器上的 GPS 控制文件,这些文件可以交给驾驶员,并控制地球上的刀片移动器。

机器控制模型

 

迎风

如今,钻石Vista风电场在堪萨斯州马里恩县和迪金森县的55,000英亩土地上占地。它配备了95 Acciona Nordex 125-3.15MW风力涡轮机。Diamond Vista 预计将满足 105,647 户家庭的电力需求,同时每年避免 900,000 吨二氧化碳排放。

现在,这里有一个圆满的结局:钻石Vista风电场的一部分被全球制造公司科勒收购,提供科勒美国和加拿大业务所需的100%的年电力,并减少其全球温室气体排放超过25%。

-乔丹-罗伯特

最新知识

YellowScan的最新动态
激光器:分类和特性

激光器:分类和特性

出于安全考虑,激光器的分类取决于其对人类眼睛和皮肤的潜在伤害风险。根据法律规定,所有激光器产品都必须有一个标签,提及等级水平。这个数字可以用阿拉伯数字或罗马数字书写。

LiDAR remaps Diamond Vista Wind Farm in Tornado Alley : Saves $1M

Jan 27, 2020

Nestled within the territory of the indigenous Kansa people, the area around Salina, Kansas happens to be one of the largest wheat-producing regions in the United States. Originally claimed by France as part of Louisiana, it was later acquired by the United States with the Louisiana Purchase in 1803.

It’s not Salina’s history, however, that makes it stand out, so much as the fact that one of the region’s defining characteristics is its frequent strong winds, making it ideal for the establishment of a wind farm.

(Talk about wind power…if the mere mention of Kansas reminds you of car-crushing tornados, we understand, for Salina also finds itself smack dab in the middle of the infamous Tornado Alley, America’s equivalent of the Bermuda Triangle—but that’s another story.)

Enter RES Americas, an Engineering Procurement Construction (EPC) contractor with a subcontract to create the Diamond Vista Wind Farm at an estimated cost of U.S. $400 million. Back in 2018, RES expected to set up 95 wind turbines, each with a rotor measuring 125 meters wide. The wind farm was expected to generate 1,300 gigawatts of wind power.

There was just one major glitch during the construction process, which proved to be the lack of highly accurate land surveys, a setback that caused expensive equipment delays. That’s where YellowScan’s Surveyor LiDAR came in to save the day. Operated by Golden, Colorado-based Juniper Unmanned, the drone-mounted Surveyor was able to remap over 8,800 hectares in just three days of collection, as opposed to traditional surveying methods that would have cost delays of up to six weeks. Because of the quality of the resulting digital terrain surface captured by the YellowScan Surveyor, RES saved an estimated one million dollars in additional earth-moving costs.

Bare earth Digital Terrain Model (DTM)

 

Burrowing into the details

Juniper Unmanned owns and operates one YellowScan Surveyor and three YellowScan Vx-20s.  Brian Soliday, Chief Revenue Officer at Juniper, explains that with a traditional survey you might get a data point every 50 feet but with LiDAR “what we were able to do was deliver between 40 to 45 points per square meter–incredibly accurate data for [our client].” The quick turnaround time meant that the earthwork on the wind turbine pads was able to restart almost immediately.

In Soliday’s experience, most Juniper clients want photogrammetry’s high resolution orthophotomapping combined with LiDAR imagery that is derived from point clouds, a solution included in YellowScan equipment and software. “We use this approach for land developers where they’re going to go in and move dirt. We figure out where these objects are buried underground,” Soliday says.

 

The nitty gritty

The Diamond Vista Wind Farm wasn’t built overnight. First, RES and the prime contractor had to get approval from the town and the community, and then negotiate access contracts with some 200 landowners who controlled a total area of 19,000 hectares.
When construction on Diamond Vista began, there was a platoon of earthmovers at the ready that cost $5,000-7,000 dollars per day to have on site. But when they started cutting the pads and access roads, they quickly realized that the DTM (Digital Terrain Model) was significantly off. They were looking at a delay of four to six weeks if going with traditional survey methods. Juniper’s YellowScan LiDAR solution came to the rescue in 72 hours.

With the Surveyor, in three days they were able to collect data across 88 square kilometers. Pre-programmed flight missions captured 76-meter swaths of LiDAR. “On each one of these, we took the center line of the road, and we flew a defined offset on that, up and back each time, to make sure we had really good coverage,” Soliday says. “Some areas had heavy vegetation; others were clear. Although it was windy they were able to fly their drones with the Surveyor in winds up to 32 kilometers per hour. The sight logistics were tricky because these flights were [often] taking place in the middle of farmers’ fields. With the Surveyor, as long as they have a base station within three miles of that, they are able to collect data very accurately.”

 

Getting the data into the field

Once operators downloaded the YellowScan mapping data, Juniper managed to produce the results in just three days of processing. So, while it takes up to 42 days with a traditional survey, Juniper was able to put the data together in only nine days and change. In the end, RES required both DSMs and Digital Terrain Models in .xml format, along with 1-foot contours, cut-and-fill reports for each pad/road, and GPS machine control files.

“All they really wanted was GPS control files on a thumb drive that they could hand to a driver and it would control the blade on the earth movers,” Soliday says.

Machine Control Model

 

Welcoming the wind

These days the Diamond Vista Wind Farm ranges over an area of 55,000 acres of land in Marion and Dickinson counties in Kansas. It is equipped with 95 Acciona Nordex 125-3.15MW wind turbines. Diamond Vista is expected to meet the electricity needs of 105,647 households, all while avoiding 900,000 tons of CO2 emissions a year.

Now here’s a happy ending: a portion of the Diamond Vista Wind Farm was acquired by global manufacturing company Kohler, supplying 100% of the annual electricity needed to power Kohler’s U.S. and Canadian operations and reducing its global greenhouse gas emissions by more than 25%.

—Jordan Robert

Latest knowledge

What’s new at YellowScan
WEBINAR: Capture, process and fine-tune your LiDAR data

WEBINAR: Capture, process and fine-tune your LiDAR data

YellowScan presents new professional webinar series, “Straight to the point” for 2020. « Straight to the Point » is YellowScan’s brand spanking new webinar series for professional LiDAR operators and all those who appreciate the survey benefits of laser point clouds.